You are here

Amenity Sprayer Operator Awards winners rewarded

ASOY winners 2017
ASOY 2017 winners and sponsors: Stephen Jacob, BASIS Registration, Lee Harrison, Complete Weed Control, Nathan Hume, SH Goss, Mark Pyrah, ICL, Chris Phillips Complete Weed Control and Andy Baker from Ely Golf Club

The three category winners for the 2017 Amenity Sprayer Operator of the Year Awards were announced at the 2017 Amenity Forum conference, held at the Pirelli Stadium at Burton on Trent on Thursday 12th October.

It is the third year of the prestigious Awards, which aim to reward top sprayer operators across the amenity industry, and to share their best practice to enhance standards for all.

The category winners and runners up were as follows:

Sportsturf category:

  • Winner - Chris Phillips, who works for Complete Weed Control
  • Runner Up – Andy Baker from Ely Golf Club

Landscape & Amenity Knapsack Operations category

  • Winner – Nathan Hume who works for SH Goss Ltd.
  • Runner Up – Tony Robinson from Southern Horticulture

Landscape & Amenity Mounted Sprayer operations

  • Winner – Lee Harrison from Complete Weed Control
  • Runner Up – Robert Alexander from JSD Rail

The main sponsors of the prestigious Amenity Sprayer Operator of the Year Awards (ASOY) are ICL and Syngenta. Each winner announced at the event received a framed certificate and a trophy from the sponsors, together with the offer of free training awarded by BASIS Registration.

The three category winners have now been invited by ICL and Syngenta to attend as their guests the BTME Event in January when the overall winner will be announced at their evening awards event.

The overall winner will receive the Amenity Forum Shield and will have a choice of prize options provided by the sponsors, including a trip to the USA to attend either the Green Industry & Equipment Expo or the Golf Course Superintendent Association of America Conference, or to receive instead £2000 of ICL and Syngenta products.

Congratulating the winners, Daniel Lightfoot, Syngenta UK Business Manager, said: “We welcome the ASOY Awards that gives the chance to reward the country’s top sprayer operators - whilst also sharing the practical tips and ideas that can help all operators enhance results and protect the environment.

“The ASOY winners have exemplified Best Practice in accurate spray application, which is one of the most complex challenges faced in amenity management.”

Daniel pointed out that the use of plant protection products is under constant scrutiny, so it is important to use them safely and efficiently in a way that meets industry needs, as well as public, operator and environmental safety. “All of the ASOY winners have ably demonstrated the skills and knowledge to assure that it can be successfully achieved,” he added.

Speaking about the awards, Amenity Forum chairman, Professor John Moverley said: “The Awards attracted a high number of entrants this year, and all of an extremely high standard that reflects the excellence of spray operators across the industry."

"The Sportsturf category was an especially highly competitive category, with just one point separating winner from runner up," he added.

“We are extremely grateful to the sponsors of these awards who are members of the Forum and fully supportive of all our objectives.

“The awards highlight the professionalism that exists in our sector and the high standards achieved," said John. "I congratulate all who entered and especially the winners.”